So this was Christmas

To plagiarise John Lennon’s “Happy Christmas (War Is Over)”

So this was Christmas
And what have you done – Pete
Another year over
And a new one just begun

Christmas is over for 2011 and now it’s New Year’s Eve leading right on to 2012 – 42 years since I joined the Navy and commenced my working career of fun and frivolity with a bunch of wonderful people.

Most notable for me now is I’m less than 5 hours from completing a full year off the grog and I’m pretty chuffed with myself.  All started with a quip from Gareth and the rest, as they say, is history.

It started with quite some difficulty really; the body went through a period of withdrawal and it took almost a month to settle down physically. Psychologically it wasn’t a chore at all as I think I locked on to the goal and never wavered. A good example for me on what can be achieved when you put your mind to it.

As a consequence of this decision the second most notable outcome after actually doing the time is I lost 16kg in weight at an average rate of 0.3kg a week with two excursions North, New York & Christmas.

This is sustainable and reinforces for me the slow and steady idea with a change in life style necessary rather than diets.

Kay and I are off to see Peter Clark now, he is in Fremantle Hospital in a bit of trouble health wise.  All a little disturbing as he was the MC at our wedding, I joined the Navy with Peter and clearly we have a lot in common and we love him dearly.  But Peter is in trouble with his Liver and should he get home and continue to drink we won’t have Peter for much longer.

Compare and contrast Peter and my years and you have a stark comparison.  I am not getting on my high horse but we all have a choice in life and the only person who is accountable for your choices is you.

Peter has been dealt some difficult cards, a Cancer episode no less but he is surrounded by an amazing wife in Julie and his fabulous kids and wider family – most of whom Kay and I have met.

I will be wishing the very best for Peter – he has a long hard road ahead of him and a lot of great mates barracking for his improvement.

So my friends all the very best for 2012 remember – this is the beginning of a new day (year).  You have been given this day (year) to use as you will.  You can waste it or use it for good.  What you do today is important because you are exchanging a day (year) of your life for it.  When tomorrow (the year) comes, this day (or coming year) will be gone forever, in its place is something that you have left behind.  Let it be something good.

3 thoughts on “So this was Christmas

  1. Peter,

    Will keep Clarky in our prayers for a complete revovery.

    Congrats on your amazing year, Have a Great new Year for 2012.

    Frank & Bonnie

  2. Hi Pete
    Pass on to PFA all my very best and recover quick. Had 2days up the Riverland (Renmark) with Lenny and Rose Lockwood. Weather and company was just excellent and a few samples of my product was consumed. Could you let everyone know to amend there email account for lenny to remarkmotorinn@gmail.com or if your passing through its on the
    hwy between Macca’s and KFC.
    Cheers
    Mick

Leave a Reply

